Skip to main content
books from Nigerian female writers

The Powerful Voices of Nigerian Women Writers

Submitted by Editor on 4 June 2024

By Lenient Amidu

Someone said that Nigerian women writers are the definition of influence and excellence. This is evidently true. Over the years, Nigerian women writers have shaped modernity, society, and systems with their work. As powerful as their writing is, it is also remarkable. Their works in whatever genre have helped build generations on a solid foundation of stories from everywhere.

There are over a hundred female writers from Nigeria including those deceased. Some prominent figures in the Literary scene include:

Chimamanda Adichie: Author of Purple Hibiscus, Half of a Yellow Sun, Americanah, and many other amazing works. She has won numerous awards including the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize in 2005 for Best First Book (Africa) and Best First Book (overall) for "Purple Hibiscus", the Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction in 2007 for "Half of a Yellow Sun", the “Best of the Best” Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction in 2015 for "Half of a Yellow Sun”, and many others. She is loved by many for her ability to portray the trait of ordinary humanity in the lives of her characters.


Ayobami Adebayo: Ayobami’s debut novel Stay With Me captured the hearts of readers on its release in 2017. The book gathered various awards including 9mobile Prize for Literature, Baileys Prize for Women's Fiction, Wellcome Book Prize and others. Her most recent book A Spell Of Good Things has been received with great acclaim and a nomination for the 2023 Booker Prize. Her work weaves the often hard reality of life experiences into intriguing plots.

Chika Unigwe: Chika Unigwe is a remarkable author. Her book On Black Sisters Street won the illustrious NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature in 2012. Her latest book, The Middle Daughter continues to move readers.


Nnedi Okorafor: Okorafor is a science fiction and fantasy writer. Her writing style is unique and distinguishing. Her works like the Binti series, “Who Fears Death,” and “Akata Warrior,” excite and ignite the mind of readers. Her awards including the Eisner Award, Nebula Award, and Hugo Award, are proof of her wonderful talent.


Oyinkan Braithwaite: Nigeria's very own Crime Novelist. Oyinkan’s 2018 novel, My Sister, the Serial Killer had readers glued to the pages. This suspense-filled tale has garnered worthy acclaim and earned her the esteemed 2019 LA Times Award for Best Crime Thriller. She is also a short story writer and an illustrator.


Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani: I Do Not Come to You by Chance, Nwaubani's debut novel, published in 2009 won the 2010 Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Book (Africa) and the 2010 Betty Trask First Book Award. Her debut young adult novel, published in 2018, Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree based on interviews with women and girls kidnapped by Boko Haram won the 2018 Raven Award for Excellence in Arts and Entertainment. Nwaubani is also a journalist and she reports on underreported humanitarian issues.


The Nigerian female writer is a remarkable and diverse individual. They have transformed Nigerian literature and presented our stories with elegance, grace, dexterity, and competence. Their voices resound across decades and nations, a symphony of strength and resiliency. They are the architects of cultural identity, the storytellers, the dream weavers. They dispel myths, start discussions, and motivate change with every writing stroke. Their remarks shine a bright light on the way to a society that is more inclusive and egalitarian.